Divisionals

Success!

I came in second today, so I qualified for Div II! Whee! I went 3-1 in pools with a +7 indicator (I should have won the last bout, *sigh*, AND not have given up so many touches!), and was seeded third after pools. I fenced a good friend in the first round and won 15-8, then fenced a girl from San Antonio who was solid but youg and beat her 15-10 (I was ahead 13-8 at the second break and just doubled out) and then lost in the finals 15-8 to a 16 year old who was tougher than expected. I barely missed SO many touches, by like half an inch! Aaargh! It was a fun bout anyways.

DH also qualified for both Divs II/III in both foil and epee. (I’m not eligible for DivI III because I have a “C” rating, even though it’ll drop to a “D” at the end of this season, as Div III is only “D” and under at the time of qualification.) He took second in the foil and third in epee, so yay for him too. Good weekend of fencing at the Ray household…

2 Responses

  1. Hi! I’m enjoying your blog. It’s nearly 29 years since I was in Austin but I remember the hospitality Friends and locals showed me.

    You’re obviously a much better fencer than me and the quilts are amazing. Congratulations on making Div III (not that I really understand the U.S. ranking system, though I’m getting to grips with the different terms).

    kathz (quaker fencer from England)

    http://kathz.blogspot.com
    http://kathzsblog.blogspot.com

    • Thanks for stopping by! The US rating system is wacked – the European system makes much more sense. Supposedly, the US system is supposed to change but there’s no official word yet.

      I look forward to getting to know you better via blogland!
      Anjea

Leave a comment