First night back…in 15 months, eek!

I suppose that whole “older and wiser” thing does actually apply. DH and I had our first night of fencing practice tonight, and left early so we’re not TOTALLY dead tomorrow. I took a lesson at 5:00, we fenced about 4-5 people each, did some coach-led footwork drills with the rest of the club, stretched, and left. I think my legs may fall off tomorrow, but we’ll just have to wait and see.

My lesson went well. The coach is starting with basics, as I’ve got some old bad habits and some new ones from being out of fencing shape. It apparently took, as I got two touches in different bouts using what we worked on – and one was in my bout against the coach. Thankfully, too, it was not only the “lesson touch” but it was also perfectly executed AND looked pretty! *proud* I also only lost on bout tonight, and it was when I fenced the coach. While my fencing could have been better (ya know, in practice and in shape!) it certainly wasn’t piss poor and a few of the hard-wired reflexes are still intact, yay.

Off to bed early tonight…after I get a good rub down with some IcyHot. 😀

One Response

  1. really am excited to see this post!! I was wondering when ya’l would jump back in!

    When we found out that we could fence at UT without hassle (and get lessons regularly), that helped get the jump start going. It’s good to be back!

Leave a Reply

