Practice in Purple

Toni (The Quilting Pirate) will appreciate this one. 😀 I’m going to use her idea for displaying my little quilts, too! 😀

I ordered a few miniature quilt tops from a woman on Ebay for about $10 each. They arrived today, and they’re very well made (points, size, lay flat, etc.). I thought it would be a good way to work on specific quilting techniques with minimal hassle – and I’d get a finished product quickly. 😀 I received my two tops today, and finished the first one. I was working on my stitch-in-the-ditch, which I don’t do often (because historically, I’ve not been good at it) and microstippling. The SITD came out very nicely, as I was using my overcast foot with the little guidebar right in the middle of the foot. That helped a LOT – it’s perfect! I also, surprisingly, had NO tension issues with the FMQ. Yay!

Finished quilt. It is 16″ x 16″:
Photobucket

You can see how the log cabins “pop” out with the denser background quilting with it hanging off the edge of the ironing board here:
Photobucket

Close-up of SITD and fabrics:
Photobucket

Back of quilt (pictures taken before the sleeve or label is put on):
Photobucket

Close-up of FMQ (sorry, it’s a little blurry):
Photobucket

This is the other top I bought. I’m still thinking about what I want to work on with regard to quilting it…It’ll probably be something FMQ-related, but I’ll have to come up with a design just for it. I am going to call this one “Oceans Away!”

Top:
Photobucket

Close-up of the fabrics. There are two batiks and two Fairy Frost fabrics, very pretty!
Photobucket

One Response

  1. ya need to share the ebay store link so we all can purchase these babies! I can use them in my miniature swaps! 🙂 They turned out sooo well!

    I thought you would like it! Just search for “mini quilt tops” and see what comes up!

Leave a Reply

