I may never use chocolate brown again

Between working on “Color-blind Coffee” and a wedding quilt for my brother-in-law in the same color scheme, I’m getting pretty tired of looking at various chocolate browns and creams. I like the color combo; I just wish my two projects with near deadlines weren’t the same, ya know?

I’m about 3/4 of the way done piecing the units of the Jacob’s Ladder blocks from the BIL’s quilt. It’s a bit of a pain, as I’m doing it as a controlled scrappy palate, and have to make sure I don’t repeat “sets” during strip piecing if I can help it. (For you non-quilters, that means that all of the fabrics are in the same colorway, but there’s about 50 different fabrics in the quilt, and they’re pieced together with no rhyme or reason as to placement.) I am going shopping tomorrow to look for border fabrics.

Here’s the EQ6 workup of the quilt:
Photobucket

I just liked how the blue looked with it. I didn’t think there’d be enough contrast with red, which is the accent color in their house. Everything else is those same neutral tones. πŸ˜›

I found the perfect backing fabric online tonight – it’s 108″ wide and end of bolt, so the piece is 108″ x 116″ – plenty for a backing for this quilt! πŸ˜€ I got a really good deal on it, too – I saved over $30 by not having to buy 8 1/2 yards of fabric in the store. *pleased* It’s a pretty deep red with a generic, somewhat florally design. While I’m not a floral kind of gal, it looks like something they’d pick out. *shrug*

Here’s the thumbnail from the website:Photobucket

Leave a Reply

